Skip to main content

About the Editors


New Content Item

Rajarshi Guha is currently a Director in Data & Computational Sciences at Vertex Pharmaceuticals. The group's remit is broad, covering method development for small molecule informatics, genomics and image analytics. With over 15 years of experience in handling, analyzing, and visualizing chemical information, he has developed novel algorithms for the analysis and visualization of chemical data types, large scale infrastructure projects (Trans-NIH RNAi screening facility, Pharos, BARD), and worked on small-molecule screening programs for rare cancers and infectious diseases. His research interests focus on techniques to link chemical structure information to molecular, bibliographic, genomic, and clinical covariates to explain the effects of small molecules in the context of larger biological systems. He is also active in the Open Source cheminformatics community as well as the ACS Division of Chemical Information. As part of his community contributions, he sits on the scientific advisory board of Synthia and is a Director of CCDC, Inc. His work has led to over 140 peer-reviewed publications and more than 30 invited lectures over the last decade. Prior to joining Vertex, he held positions at NCATS NIH and the School of Informatics at Indiana University, Bloomington.

Barbara ZdrazilBarbara Zdrazil is a group leader at the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, University of Vienna, Austria, and works as a safety data scientist for the European Bioinformatics Institute (EMBL-EBI), UK.

She received her PhD in Pharmaceutical Chemistry from the University of Vienna and performed her postdoctoral studies at the University of Düsseldorf, Germany. Barbara contributed to many EU-funded projects (eTOX, OpenPHACTS, EU-ToxRisk) and is leading a nationally funded FWF project focusing on hepatic OATPs since 2017. In 2019, Barbara accomplished her Venia Docendi in Pharmacoinformatics at the University of Vienna.

Barbara's research is concentrated on integrating Data Science approaches into the Computational Molecular Design process. She focuses on off-targets (mainly hepatic uptake transporters of the SLC family), and develops automatized computational techniques to link heterogeneous data sources, perform bioactivity profiling, and generate predictive models – especially for toxicity predictions. In addition, Barbara is interested in large-scale data analyses including time trend analyses by utilizing public domain data. At EMBL-EBI, Barbara is contributing to Open Targets, a project which aims to enable systematic target identification and prioritization.

Associate Editors

New Content ItemNina Jeliazkova received a M.Sc. in Computer Science from the Institute for Fine Mechanics and Optics, St. Petersburg, Russia in 1991, followed by a PhD in Computer Science (thesis "Novel computer methods for molecular modelling") in 2001 in Sofia, Bulgaria, and a PostDoc at the Central Product Safety department, Procter & Gamble, Brussels, Belgium (2002 - 2003) Her professional career started as a software developer first at the oil refinery Neftochim at Burgas, Bulgaria (1991 - 1995), then at the Laboratory for Mathematical Chemistry, Burgas, Bulgaria (1996 - 2001). She joined the Bulgarian Academy of Sciences at 1996 as a researcher and network engineer at the Network Operating Centre of the Bulgarian National Research and Education Network. She is founder and co-owner of Ideaconsult Ltd and is technical manager of the company since 2009. She participated in a number of R&D projects in Belgium and Bulgaria, authored and co-authored about 40 scientific papers in Bulgarian and international textbooks, as well as several book chapters. Nina received the Blue Obelisk Award in 2010 for achievements in promoting Open Data, Open Source and Open Standards.

BMC is part of Springer Nature

Annual Journal Metrics

  • Speed (average)
    47 days to first decision for reviewed manuscripts only
    32 days to first decision for all manuscripts
    124 days from submission to acceptance
    16 days from acceptance to publication

    1567 Altmetric mentions

    Click here to see citation distribution in recent years